Fall Out Boy Studio Album - Folie à Deux

15. srpna 2009 v 11:17 | LiL Pete |  BASIC INFORMATION

Folie à Deux is the fifth studio album by Fall Out Boy. The album, which is the follow-up to their 2007 album Infinity on High, was first released on December 13, 2008. The album is certified platinum in Australia and gold in the United States.



On August 25, 2008, Decaydance Records released a mixtape titled Welcome to the New Administration on Pete Wentz's viral campaign, Citizens For Our Betterment. The mixtape contained several snippets of what seemed like new Fall Out Boy tracks. However none of the titles were confirmed for Folie à Deux. The mixtape included tracks such as "ALPHAdog and OMEGAlomaniac," "Lake Effect Kid," "Catch Me if You Can/Proclamation of Emaciation" which featured Travis McCoy from Gym Class Heroes. It also featured a song titled "America's Sweethearts", which was eventually confirmed for the album but with alternate spelling, and now entitled "America's Suitehearts."
Pete Wentz was also quoted on his blog stating that "all songs that aren't snippets, most likely won't be on the next album including 'Catch Me if You Can/Proclamation of Emaciation'," which eventually found its way onto the Gym Class Heroes' The Quilt. Wentz stated that Fall Out Boy fell in love with the track, so they remixed it, and re-wrote the chorus.
On September 13, 2008, on the band's website, the album cover artwork was revealed, with Luke Chueh credited as the designer claiming the band was great to work with and gave him full creative control.


Release Date in Doubt

Though the album was originally set for a November 4, 2008 release, Fall Out Boy later announced on October 13, 2008, that the early November was in doubt, citing concerns over the planned election day tie-in, stating:
Six months ago we thought it would be a fun idea to release our album on election day but this is not the election to be cute. We felt as though rather than making a commentary we were only riding the wave of the election. This seemed less and less like what we intended to do and more of a gimmick. It is now in the hands of our label to give us a new release date. It is our intent to get our record out this year and as soon as possible -- as we made sure to have it done in time for its original release.
The band's initial statement was later corrected, stating that the album's new U.S. release date was scheduled for December 16, 2008.
On the Friends or Enemies website, Fall Out Boy posted a list of the songs which would appear on the album. The "Friends or Enemies" post conflicts earlier reports by MTV News which included songs tentatively titled "Never Believe" (Most likely from "(Coffee's for Closers)") and "Does Your Husband Know?" (Most likely from "Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On A Bad Bet") .
"Folie à Deux" is a French term which translates to "a madness shared by two" or "insanity of two", referring to the psychotic disorder.


Music Guests

Collaborators include Lil Wayne, Pharrell, Panic at the Disco, The Academy Is..., Debbie Harry from Blondie, and Elvis Costello, who the band stated also recorded with acts from Decaydance.


Music Singles

As part of a new marketing ploy, Fall Out Boy released several singles on iTunes, which, when purchased would go towards purchasing the entire album. The first single, "I Don't Care" was first released on September 3, 2008 to "FriendsOrEnemies.com". The single was followed a month later by "Headfirst Slide into Cooperstown on a Bad Bet" on October 7, 2008. The second digital single, "What a Catch, Donnie", was released a short time later on October 15, 2008, followed by the second radio single, "America's Suitehearts", which was released on December 22, 2008. "America's Suitehearts", was then released as the second single on January 12, 2009. The third Australian single was "She's My Winona" and began radio play in early February. On June 30th, Pete Wentz posted on his Twitter that the band have 'wrapped up' a video for 'What A Catch'.


Track Listing

"Lullabye" (pregap hidden track) - 2:18
1.) "Disloyal Order of Water Buffaloes" - 4:17
2.) "I Don't Care" - 3:34
3.) "She's My Winona" - 3:51
4.) "America's Suitehearts" - 3:34
5.) "Headfirst Slide into Cooperstown on a Bad Bet" - 3:54
6.) "The (Shipped) Gold Standard" - 3:19
7.) "(Coffee's for Closers)" - 4:35
8.) "What a Catch, Donnie" - 4:51
9.) "27" - 3:12
10.) "Tiffany Blews" - 3:44
11.) "w.a.m.s." - 4:38
12.) "20 Dollar Nose Bleed" - 4:17
13.)"West Coast Smoker" - 2:46

Not available on digital versions of the album.

iTunes Deluxe Version

14.) "I Don't Care" (Cobra Starship Suave Suarez Remix) - 3:11
15.) "I Don't Care" (music video) - 4:27
16.) Digital Booklet

Limited Edition

14.) "I Don't Care" (Machine Shop Remix) - 3:03
15.) "America's Suitehearts" (South Rakkas Remix) - 3:40
16.) "Pavlove" - 3:34
17.) "America's Suitehearts" (Acoustic) - 3:40
18.) "What a Catch, Donnie" (Acoustic) - 4:01

Bonus Tracks in Limited Edition

"I Don't Care" (Acoustic) (Japan bonus track) - 3:44
"Beat It" (UK and Latin America bonus track) - 3:53
"America's Suitehearts" (Suave Suarez Remix) [Downloadable bonus track] - 3:04

Japanese Bonus DVD

"Our Lawyer Made Us Change the Name of This Song So We Wouldn't Get Sued" (Live from Summer Sonic)
"Thnks fr th Mmrs" (Live from Summer Sonic)
"Infinity on High International EPK"


Personnel Band Members

Patrick Stump - lead vocals, guitar
Joe Trohman - guitar, backing vocals
Pete Wentz - bass guitar, backing vocals
Andy Hurley - drums


Personnel Guest Artists

Elvis Costello - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie

Lil Wayne - Guest vocals on Tiffany Blews

Brendon Urie - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie; Piano and Vocals on 20 Dollar Nose Bleed.

Gabe Saporta - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie

Travis McCoy - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie

Doug Neumann - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie

Alex DeLeon - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie and Tiffany Blews

Pharrell Williams - synthesizer on w.a.m.s.

William Beckett - Guest vocals on What a Catch, Donnie

Debbie Harry - Guest vocals on West Coast Smoker


Personnel Production

Neal Avron - Producer
The Neptunes - Producer



In its debut week, the album sold over 150,000 copies to place at number 8 on the Billboard 200. The album went gold on January 27, 2009.


Studio album by Fall Out Boy

Released: December 13, 2008 (Australia/New Zealand)
December 14, 2008 (UK)
December 16, 2008 (USA)

Recorded: Los Angeles, California
Genre: Pop rock Pop punk
Length: 50:53
Label: Decaydance, Island, Fueled by Ramen
Producer: Neal Avron, Pharrell Williams


1 člověk ohodnotil tento článek.

Nový komentář

Vezměte na vědomí, že diskuse je moderována. Než se nový komentář začne zobrazovat, musí jej nejdříve schválit autor blogu.

Přihlásit se
  Ještě nemáte vlastní web? Můžete si jej zdarma založit na Blog.cz.

Aktuální články